72nd All India Police Hockey Championship organised by J&K Police concludes Punjab Police team lifts the title; beats BSF by 3:0 Lt. Governor, J&K distributes the prizes among the winners of different categories JKP is sharing the responsibility of providing different platforms to the youth of J&K: DGP J&K

Jammu, 08 February: Ten days long 72nd All India Police Hockey Championship organised by J&K Police concluded today at K.K Hakku Stadium, Jammu. Hon’ble Lt. Governor, J&K Shri Manoj Sinha who was the chief guest, distributed the prizes among the winners & runners up teams besides to best players of the tournament. He declared the event closed.

Speaking on the occasion, the DGP J&K Shri R.R Swain thanked Hon’ble Lt. Governor J&K Shri Manoj Sinha for gracing the occasion. He also thanked the Advisor to Hon’ble Lt. Governor Shri R R Bhatnagar, Addl Director IB MHA Dr Mahesh Dixit representing Chairman AIPSCB, senior serving and retired officers from Police, civil administration. He thanked and appreciates the role of the media fraternity for giving wide publicity to the event. He praised all the participating teams for their dedication and sportsmanship throughout the tournament, highlighting the importance of such events in fostering camaraderie and unity among the law enforcement agencies.

The DGP said that it is an honour to J&K Police given by AIPSCB to organise such a national level event. The event, which saw participation from 34 teams representing various police units from across the country. He said that within a short notice the responsibility was entrusted upon J&K Police and the organizing committee who worked hard to make this event a grand success, for which he said I am very proud of them.

The DGP said that J&K Police besides fighting on forefront against multiple challenges during the over last three decades is sharing the responsibility of providing different platforms to the youth of J&K as well as to its own personnel in the field of sports.

He informed that under Civic Action Programmes in the year 2023, J&K Police organised number of youth-oriented activities that include Marathon in Jammu as well as in Srinagar, Cycle Race (Pedal for Peace) in Srinagar, 19th Martyrs memorial football tournament in Srinagar, Aman Memorial Cricket Tournament in Kishtwar, besides Bharat Darshan Programmes are being regularly organised for the thousands of school children that helps students to know their country.

He said 34 teams (Men-25 and Women-09) from 25 States Police Organizations and CAPFs, comprising 800 players/Technical officials participated in the championship and hoped that they had enjoyed this journey and enjoyed their stay at Jammu.

He congratulated the Punjab Police men team and CRPF women team for winning their respective titles. He advised other teams that they shall continue to work hard adding that winning and losing the matches are part of the game but participation is more important.

He expressed heartfelt thank you to the All-India Police Sports Control Board for entrusting the responsibilities to J&K Police for organizing 72nd All India Police Hockey Championship 2023-24, which adds one more feather to the crown of J&K Police.

He congratulated the Organizing Committee, especially the organizing Secretary of this Championship and his team for their excellent work, who worked hard, leaving their comforts, for smooth conduct of the Championship.

He also thanked the J&K Sports Council, Youth Services & Sports J&K, Hockey India, Hockey J&K, Jammu University, Municipal Corporation Jammu for their timely assistance for successful conduct of the Championship.

Addl. Director IB, MHA Dr Mahesh Dixit speaking on behalf of Chairman AIPSCB said that the successful conduct of this competition is a testament to the dedication and hard work put in by the officers and personnel of the Jammu and Kashmir Police, especially through the provision of necessary infrastructure, arrangements and excellent hospitality for the participants and officials. Managing such major sporting events is a huge challenge in itself, he said. He on behalf of chairman AIPSC Board, expressed heartfelt gratitude to Jammu and Kashmir Police for organizing this wonderful event and hospitality. He congratulated all the trophy and medal winners and urged them to maintain the same level of responsive excellence in the future also. He also expressed gratitude to all the technical officers, officials, judges, referees, electronic and print media, who generously supported this event and made it a grand success.

In his welcome address, ADGP Armed J&K Shri Vijay Kumar extended his gratitude to all the dignitaries for gracing the occasion and briefed about different programs organised during this ten-day long championship. He said all possible facilities were made available for the participating teams and support staff and hoped that they had enjoyed their stay in the city of temples. He said that Jammu and Kashmir Police has always been on forefront in promoting sports activities in the region.

He extended thanks to the All-India Police Sports Council Board, Indian Hockey Federation, J&K Hockey Federation, J&K Sports Council Board, Youth Services and Sports, Jammu Nagar Nigam, and the media fraternity for their valuable support and assistance in making the championship a grand success. He also appreciated the teams' enthusiastic participation and extended good luck wishes to them for their future endeavours.

Final Results

Match No. 34 Hard Line was played between CISF v/s CRPF and won by 4.0 goals by CRPF, scorer of the match were Saroj Ekka jr.no.4 (1st goal), 2nd goal scored by Lovejeet Singh jr no. 32, 3rd & 4th goals scored by Mohd Wasiullah Khan jr.no.10. Player of the match was declared Jaskaran Kumar jr.no.31. for his brilliant performance.

Match no. 35 (Final Match) was between Punjab Police v/s BSF. Match won by Punjab Police by 3-0, goal scorers were Depinderdeep Singh jr.no.13 (1st goal), 2nd goal scored by Karanbir Singh jr.no.08, 3rd goal scored by Varinder Singh jr.no.22. Player of the match was declared Balwinder Singh jr. No. 18 for his brilliant performance.

Final result of women category, best goalkeeper of the championship Kalyani Kindoo Jersey no. 49 of CRPF, Best player of the championship Neha Sharma Jersey no. 36 of CRPF. Fair play trophy goes to Gujrat Police. 3rd place Odisha Police, 2nd place SSB team and winners in women category is CRPF.

Final result of men category, best goalkeeper of the championship Paras Malhotra Jersey no. 01 of Punjab Police, Best player of the championship Varinder Singh Jersey no. 22 of Punjab police. Fair play trophy goes to Jammu and Kashmir Police. 3rd place CRPF, 2nd place BSF and Punjab Police won the championship.