Press Release

Srinagar,July 5,2024.. For the first time in the history of Jammu and Kashmir Police, five Shaurya Chakras have been bestowed upon five JKP officers and Personnel today for their courage and bravery while serving the nation.

The Hon'ble President of India, Smt.Droupadi Murmu,conferred the Shaurya Chakra upon SgCt. Saif Ullah Qadri (posthumously), DySP (now SP) Mohan Lal,SI Amit Raina, SI Feroz Ahmed,and Ct Varun Singh of Jammu and Kashmir Police at Rashtrapati Bhavan today. Hon’ble President also conferred Shaurya Chakra on VDC member Shri Parshotam Kumar of Rajouri.

While lauding the courage and bravery of these gallant officers DGP, J&K, Shri R.R.Swain congratulated them and their families. In his message the DGP J&K has said that the brave officers and officials have brought honour and glory to the JKP parivar with their dedication,devotion, and service to the nation has been recognised at highest level.This recognition shows the exemplary commitment of the one of the finest Police forces of the country,the DGP added.

The DGP expressed heartfelt gratitude to the Hon'ble President of India Smt.Droupadi Murmu, Hon'ble Prime Minister Sh.Narendra Modi, Hon'ble Defence Minister Sh.Raj Nath Singh and officers of Ministry of Defence, the Central Govt and UT Govt for recognizing the valour and sacrifices of J&K Police. He also thanked the people of Jammu and Kashmir for their unwavering support to the force.

The Ministry of Defence had announced Shaurya Chakras to these bravehearts on Independence Day 2023 and Republic Day 2024.